Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2345678910 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 115

Thread: 50/22 from a FK

      
  1. #51

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,487

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    my 2p to maybe muddy the waters.

    ISTR the silly wording about PKs having to NOT bounce into touch for retained throw in has been removed now?

    ie any PK to touch, anywhere, retains the throw?

  2. #52
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,560

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Yes 18.8.c Ball kicked from a penalty now says "either directly or first bouncing in the field of play or hitting an opponent or the referee" kicking team takes throw.

  3. #53

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,270

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    my 2p to maybe muddy the waters.

    ISTR the silly wording about PKs having to NOT bounce into touch for retained throw in has been removed now?

    ie any PK to touch, anywhere, retains the throw?
    that has always been the case, but the anomaly was on time, whether the game ends or not.
    If time has expired it used to say that a PK had to be kicked 'directly' to touch to get the line out.

    Now it says
    half ends when the ball becomes dead after time has expired unless:
    A penalty is kicked into touch without the ball first being tapped and without the ball touching another player


    So that's better (although still illiterate as if the PK has tapped, then it is open play, so it's no longer a PK to touch)

  4. #54

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,487

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Thanks CR - ISTR something about "directly" to touch to keep the throw which had some interpretation meaning not bouncing first but Im obviously confusing myself :-)

  5. #55

    Referees in America
    smeagol's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CARFU RS
    Join Date
    20 Apr 12
    Posts
    472

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    So, USAR put on a webinar going over the GLTs.

    In a QnA following up on it, USAR indicates the answer is no, going against the answer provided within the webinar (which featured Angus Gardner).

    source: http://assets.usarugby.org/docs/refe...4LYOGD,1LMC5,1

  6. #56

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,270

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by smeagol View Post
    So, USAR put on a webinar going over the GLTs.

    In a QnA following up on it, USAR indicates the answer is no, going against the answer provided within the webinar (which featured Angus Gardner).

    source: http://assets.usarugby.org/docs/refe...4LYOGD,1LMC5,1
    Love it
    But actually the q&a says "yes" while the webinar said no

    Here is a good link
    .http://assets.usarugby.org/docs/refe...r-Q&A-2021.pdf
    Last edited by crossref; 18-08-21 at 08:08.

  7. #57

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    10,487

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    WTAF?


    how do they manage to do this? Is this some bizarre US language thing akin to the "I could give a damn" when they actually mean the opposite?

  8. #58

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by smeagol View Post
    So, USAR put on a webinar going over the GLTs.

    In a QnA following up on it, USAR indicates the answer is no, going against the answer provided within the webinar (which featured Angus Gardner).

    source: http://assets.usarugby.org/docs/refe...4LYOGD,1LMC5,1
    Opposite of that.

  9. #59

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    WTAF?


    how do they manage to do this? Is this some bizarre US language thing akin to the "I could give a damn" when they actually mean the opposite?
    The explanation was that during the trials in parts of the SH, teams awarded a FK could not get the throw in after a 50/22, but when the wording of the GLT was released, there was no provision that disallowed it.

    Any good reason why a FK would be exempted from 50/22?

    The only situation I can think of where a team could carry/pass into their own half and unjustly gain the throw in at a 50/22 would be:

    Red carried/passed into their half, there is a freak accident, inadvertent whistle, or dog runs on the pitch, no T/R/M or Blue touching the ball, scrum awarded to Red, Blue engage early, or otherwise violate 19.12.a-d, Red are awarded a FK, 50/22 is on?

  10. #60

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,270

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by thepercy View Post
    The explanation was that during the trials in parts of the SH, teams awarded a FK could not get the throw in after a 50/22, but when the wording of the GLT was released, there was no provision that disallowed it.

    Any good reason why a FK would be exempted from 50/22?

    The only situation I can think of where a team could carry/pass into their own half and unjustly gain the throw in at a 50/22 would be:

    Red carried/passed into their half, there is a freak accident, inadvertent whistle, or dog runs on the pitch, no T/R/M or Blue touching the ball, scrum awarded to Red, Blue engage early, or otherwise violate 19.12.a-d, Red are awarded a FK, 50/22 is on?
    simpler than that - red pass back into own half, knock on, scrum, FK to red

    Not sure about justly/unjustly though, I don't think there is an underlying logic here, else they wouldn't make mistakes, and we'd all be able to agree on what they meant

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •