Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 115

Thread: 50/22 from a FK

      
  1. #31

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,370

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    I try not to reveal the contact details of my contacts at the RFU on public forums because they have a tendency to get inundated with emails and requests for information from all over the world as a result.
    My information was from a very similar source. RFU laws department.
    Two different respected sources, two different answers
    I guess it's only when WR answer that know for sure

  2. #32

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,184

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    The law doesn't prohibit it.
    Exactly.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  3. #33

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,285
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    I have been informed that yes you can as long as there has been a phase of play in your half before.
    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Two different respected sources, two different answers
    I guess it's only when WR answer that know for sure
    How are they different?
    Both say you can have a 50/22 from a FK?
    Last edited by Phil E; 16-08-21 at 16:08.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  4. #34

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,184

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Two different respected sources, two different answers
    I guess it's only when WR answer that know for sure
    One is a direct quote, the other reported, essentially stating the same thing - FKs don't magically appear in your own half, but you can't take a FK back from where it was awarded into your own half and claim a 50:22. You appear to want it to be difficult.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  5. #35

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,370

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    How are they different?
    Unless I misread it, the answer from MP was 'yes' and the answer via balines was 'I have been informed that yes you can as long as there has been a phase of play in your half before.'

    Which is slightly different right ?

    Scenario
    Blue kick from own half, into red half, and red knock on
    Scrum blue
    Blue early shove
    FK to red
    Red kick indirectly into touch in blue 22

    Who throws in ?

    (I don't want it to be different, chbg, it just is different, isn't it?
    Last edited by crossref; 16-08-21 at 17:08.

  6. #36

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,285
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Unless I misread it, the answer from MP was 'yes' and the answer via balines was 'I have been informed that yes you can as long as there has been a phase of play in your half before.'
    chbg has answered that so I won't bother.
    Your just trolling now.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  7. #37

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,370

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    chbg has answered that so I won't bother.
    Your just trolling now.
    I added to my post #35 a scenario to illustrate the difference between the two

    Very happy to hear your analysis, but don't the two responses give two different answers??
    Last edited by crossref; 16-08-21 at 17:08.

  8. #38

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Interesting. Red team pass back into their half. They knock on. They win FK at the scrum. (E.g. Early engagement.) Can Red tap/go and kick?The criteria required in law has not been met.
    Their opponent touched the ball, as they were going to put it into the scrum.

  9. #39

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    I asked this of USA Rugby Referee Manager, in an initial video about the GLT they said no, but changed their mind after consulting with WR.

  10. #40

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NLMOT PR
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,100

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Unless I misread it, the answer from MP was 'yes' and the answer via balines was 'I have been informed that yes you can as long as there has been a phase of play in your half before.'

    Which is slightly different right ?

    Scenario
    Blue kick from own half, into red half, and red knock on
    Scrum blue
    Blue early shove
    FK to red
    Red kick indirectly into touch in blue 22

    Who throws in ?

    (I don't want it to be different, chbg, it just is different, isn't it?
    There has been a phase of play in the red half. Offender not relevant. 50/22 available.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •