Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 115

Thread: 50/22 from a FK

      
  1. #11
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,158

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    Interesting. Red team pass back into their half. They knock on. They win FK at the scrum. (E.g. Early engagement.) Can Red tap/go and kick?The criteria required in law has not been met.
    In what way has it not been met?

  2. #12

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,285
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    The RFU clarifications, which came out as a result of questions to World Rugby say:

    This variation (50/22) does not apply at a kick off or any type of restart kick.

    A restart kick is in the definitions as "Restart kick: The method of restarting play with a drop-kick after a score or a touch-down", so a FK is not a restart.

    There is also a clarification that says "The ball goes directly into touch from a drop out", unhelpfully they don't mention "indirectly into touch from a drop out", which would have answered the FK question.

    NB: a phase of play is defined as "Phase of play: Scrum, lineout, ruck or maul."

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  3. #13
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,158

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    The RFU clarifications, which came out as a result of questions to World Rugby say:

    This variation (50/22) does not apply at a kick off or any type of restart kick.

    A restart kick is in the definitions as "Restart kick: The method of restarting play with a drop-kick after a score or a touch-down", so a FK is not a restart.

    There is also a clarification that says "The ball goes directly into touch from a drop out", unhelpfully they don't mention "indirectly into touch from a drop out", which would have answered the FK question.

    NB: a phase of play is defined as "Phase of play: Scrum, lineout, ruck or maul."

    If a FK is not a restart how is play restarted after a Mark is awarded?
    A Mark stops play.

  4. #14

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,285
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    If a FK is not a restart how is play restarted after a Mark is awarded?
    A Mark stops play.
    Look at the definition of a Mark: "Mark: A method of suspending play and winning a free-kick by directly catching an opponent’s kick in the catcher’s own 22 or in in-goal and shouting “mark”."

    The suggestion is that a Mark doesn't stop play, it just suspends it, so no restart required?

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  5. #15

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,184

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    No....from open play only.
    Not specified as such in Law: "Either the team did not take the ball into their half, or [if it did] a tackle, ruck or maul took place within the half, or an opponent touched the ball within the half."
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  6. #16

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,184

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Balones View Post
    There is still a bit of confusion. I have been to two matches and the most asked question has been “can you kick 50/22 after a scrum”? (As long as the criteria in the GLT has been met before.)
    The RFU Clarifications asked specifically when a 50:22 was permitted IF a scrum/line-out was exactly on the halfway line. The WR answer being 'depends on where the ball emerged: if in the half of the team winning the ball, then 50:22 allowable; if they had pushed over the halfway before it emerged, then passed it back to within their own half, then 50:22 not allowable.'

    Ergo 50:22 from a scrum/LO wholly within your own half is entirely allowed.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  7. #17
    Coach/Referee

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    03 May 13
    Posts
    1,158

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    Look at the definition of a Mark: "Mark: A method of suspending play and winning a free-kick by directly catching an opponent’s kick in the catcher’s own 22 or in in-goal and shouting “mark”."

    The suggestion is that a Mark doesn't stop play, it just suspends it, so no restart required?
    Screenshot_2021-08-16-10-56-38.jpg

    "Stopping "

  8. #18
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,571

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Presumably, the blue scrum-half touched the ball while the forwards were setting the scrum.

  9. #19
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,571

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Restart kick: The method of restarting play with a drop-kick after a score or a touch-down
    So while "Penalties and free-kicks are awarded to restart play after infringements." (law 20 principles) they are not a restart kick as defined.

  10. #20

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,285
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Decorily View Post
    mark.jpg

    "Suspending"

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •