Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789101112 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 115

Thread: 50/22 from a FK

      
  1. #81

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NLMOT PR
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,100

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    But in OBs scenario the scrum was awarded in Reds half, so play is already in Reds half. No one has taken the ball back into the half so why do you need a phase of play before a 50/22 can be allowed?

    If the same scenario took place in the 22 would you allow a gain in ground?
    Simply because that phrase was the exact one that my contact used in his reply to me.

  2. #82

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,907

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    AIUI a scrum only counts as a phase of play if it is completed. Otherwise it is just a stoppage.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  3. #83

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NLMOT PR
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,100

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    AIUI a scrum only counts as a phase of play if it is completed. Otherwise it is just a stoppage.
    Certainly for data counting a scrum only counts when the ref utters ‘set’. A free kick can happen after the ‘set’. So if it is counted for data then we have to assume it is actually a scrum for phase purposes?

  4. #84

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    19,372

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    I prefer people to think through the arguments, rather than blindly following others without understanding why.

    I will treat the opportunity for 50:22 the same as I do for a 22 gain-in-ground.
    You are very cryptic chgb, I am still not sure whether you think the answer is yes or no

  5. #85

    Referees in England
    colesy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    West of Scotland
    Grade
    Adviser
    Join Date
    19 Oct 11
    Posts
    335

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Clarification from World Rugby via SRU. B89015DF-60B5-4266-AD51-D71566AACFDA.jpg

  6. #86

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,289
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by colesy View Post
    Clarification from World Rugby via SRU.
    A sensible set of questions from SRU with unambiguous answers.

    Any chance you could post the whole FAQ for all the trials?

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  7. #87

    Referees in England
    Balones's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leics
    Grade
    NLMOT PR
    Join Date
    24 Oct 06
    Posts
    1,100

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Also from Laws at RFU

    Hi …..

    The guidance coming from World Rugby is that a 50:22 can be taken from a FK. Phase of play does not coming in here.

  8. #88

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,289
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Question from my presentation last night.

    So can you get a 50/22 from a Mark?

    Since a Mark is a FK and you can get a 50/22 from a FK the answer must be yes (a Mark is not a restart under the definitions).

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  9. #89

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,259

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    more importantly. If a kick is made from inside half and, ball having exploded in flight, casing goes into touch on full and bladder bounces into touch, who gets the throw?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  10. #90

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,289
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 50/22 from a FK

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    more importantly. If a kick is made from inside half and, ball having exploded in flight, casing goes into touch on full and bladder bounces into touch, who gets the throw?
    Chopper.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •