Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: "Why the **** did you do that?"

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England
    TheBFG's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Somerset
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    14 Apr 08
    Posts
    4,387

    Question "Why the **** did you do that?"

    So Saturday afternoon, good open game, no foul play (that i saw) in the whole game! L6 match

    Part way through the first half, away side have a solid scrum ball held at the #8's feet, scrum half of the same team reaches down and picks the ball up, there's then a call from the pack leader and the scrum half puts the ball back in the scrum at the 8's feet The opposition SH looks at me with a confused look on his face........

    What do you do/give?
    __________________________________________________ _______

    happy with this posting

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Aug 12
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: "Why the **** did you do that?"

    Must be a penalty. Scrum's over. Everyone in the scrum is offside.

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    1,171

    Default Re: "Why the **** did you do that?"

    The first offence, I hope, is a knock-on when the SH put the ball back in the scrum. Alternatively, in some people's English, the SH has brought the ball back into the scrum, so it is a FK.

    All with enough communication to ensure that the SH is nominated for Dick of the Day.
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member Flish's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Durham
    Grade
    Level 9
    Join Date
    02 Sep 13
    Posts
    1,316

    Default Re: "Why the **** did you do that?"

    Knock On? I think there’s an FK sanction for pulling the ball back in, but that’s from the perspective of someone in the scrum I think

    Edit: Jinx!

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria -The North
    Grade
    Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    14 Mar 05
    Posts
    1,837

    Default Re: "Why the **** did you do that?"

    19.38.d Free Kick
    Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
    (Groucho Marx)

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Aug 12
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: "Why the **** did you do that?"

    Quote Originally Posted by tim White View Post
    19.38.d Free Kick
    That's not what the scrum half is doing. It's not a knock-on either. There's nothing to stop a player putting the ball down on the ground is there? Tackled players sometimes do this so that they can carry on.

    The scrum is over when the ball's out. It cannot start again. Anyone in front of the ball is potentially offside, so it it's played, PK?

  7. #7

    Referees in America
    thepercy's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York State Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    21 Sep 13
    Posts
    923

    Default Re: "Why the **** did you do that?"

    Quote Originally Posted by KoolFork View Post
    That's not what the scrum half is doing. It's not a knock-on either. There's nothing to stop a player putting the ball down on the ground is there? Tackled players sometimes do this so that they can carry on.

    The scrum is over when the ball's out. It cannot start again. Anyone in front of the ball is potentially offside, so it it's played, PK?
    Your logic would mean that you could never return the ball to a scrum as the scrum has ended when the ball left the scrum, and 19.38.d could never happen.

    Perhaps the wording should be "Bringing the ball back into a former scrum."?

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Aug 12
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: "Why the **** did you do that?"

    [QUOTE=thepercy;375823]Your logic would mean that you could never return the ball to a scrum as the scrum has ended when the ball left the scrum, and 19.38.d could never happen.

    Perhaps the wording should be "Bringing the ball back into a former scrum."?[/QUOT

    The Laws could certainly be more clearly written, but if the ball leaves the scrum 'legally', the scrum is generally regarded as over. Even with 19.38.d the scrum is over, but it is not relevant to the case in point.

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    TheBFG's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Somerset
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    14 Apr 08
    Posts
    4,387

    Default Re: "Why the **** did you do that?"

    I think we've all seen a scrum half roll a ball back in with their foot = FK, but to pick it up, only a few inches and then put it back down again (no knock on) in the scrum
    __________________________________________________ _______

    happy with this posting

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Berkshire
    Grade
    Just starting out
    Join Date
    15 Sep 21
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: "Why the **** did you do that?"

    Surely the ball is live, if there was no knock-on, so the oppo 9 could pick it up, and if any of the forwards play it they’re offside?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •