Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DBL question

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,252

    Default DBL question

    Law 8.2(e) tells us:

    A try is scored when an attacking player who is in touch or touch-in-goal, grounds the ball in the opponents’ in-goal provided the player is not holding the ball.


    Would the brains trust consider same applies for player beyond the DBL?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Rugby Nederland
    Grade
    WR level 2
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    1,468

    Default Re: DBL question

    Yes. Since there's no additional term for it, I'd consider it covered by touch-in-goal and I don't think there's anything suggesting that's not the spirit of it.

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    2,213

    Default Re: DBL question

    I seem t oremember a clarification some years ago confirming this. Not sure but it is in the memory from somewhere.

  4. #4

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,252

    Default Re: DBL question

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    I seem t oremember a clarification some years ago confirming this. Not sure but it is in the memory from somewhere.
    Yes, I have a vague memory of that too. I scoured the clarifications (which aren't all that easy to scour) and didn't find anything. Anyone have good scouring abilities?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    15,285
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: DBL question

    Same here. I am sure there was a clarification but I cant find it.
    I treat them (TIG and DBL) the same.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff Society of Welsh Rugby Union Referees
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    05 Jan 18
    Posts
    2,213

    Default Re: DBL question

    Just been trawling through and here is the establishing of the principle that the GL and DBL are treated the same. I think it logical that this applies in all incidents.


    Clarification 5 2016


    Clarification in Law by the Designated Members of the Rugby Committee

    Clarification
    5-2016
    Union / HP Ref Manager
    RFU
    Law Reference
    19
    Date
    19 December 2016

    Request
    We are seeking clarification that the changes to the touch definitions (Law 19) in the Global Law trials will also apply to the dead ball line. If this is not the case then there will be significant differences in outcome in the following circumstances:

    1. How the game is restarted could depend on whether or not the ball was picked up by a player who had a foot over a touch in goal line or whether the players foot was over the dead ball line; and
    2. Whether or not the ball is dead following a player returning the ball to the playing area could depend on whether the ball was over the touch in-goal line or dead ball line. The different outcome could lead to a try being awarded in one case and not in the other.

    There is urgency to this request as the Global Law trial will commence in the Southern Hemisphere on 1st January 2017

    Clarification of the designated members of the Rugby Committee

    The changes to the touch definitions (Law 19) will also apply to the dead ball line and to the goal line. Also, note that whether the ball is moving or stationary is no longer relevant.
    Three video examples maybe helpful:

    https://youtu.be/TSCC9iHV7cM = Try
    https://youtu.be/Qh2ABCXf1Z8 = New decision - 22m drop out as kicking team took ball into in goal instead of scrum back to where ball originally kicked from
    http://laws.worldrugby.org/?law=22 see video at 22.9 (c). New Decision - scrum 5m attack instead of 22m drop out

    To be applied from: As per global law trial implementation dates:
    January 1, 2017 – Southern Hemisphere
    July 1, 2017 – Northern Hemisphere

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,252

    Default Re: DBL question

    if they are treated differently, there is nothing on the ground diagram that shows where TiG ends, and the "behind DBL" starts.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    13,252

    Default Re: DBL question

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Wakeham View Post
    [h=1][COLOR=#000000][FONT=arial][SIZE=3]Just been trawling through
    all hail king of the scourers. Well done!
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •